Welcoming All Visitors -  slipping awa (64 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

To: All  (1 of 2) 
I am new to this and I hope I have found the right place to vent. I contracted Polio in 1954 when I was 2. I was in Australia at the time. I now live in New Zealand. I was a teacher until 4 years ago and now I tutor children. I got polio in my left leg and I got rid of my caliper when I was ten through a series of operations. I have been reasonably mobile but had to start using a walking stick at 40. I am now 64 and over the last 6 months I have had more and more difficulty getting around. Walking now is difficult and I have to spend a lot of my day on my bottom. I do a little, sit a little. I feel like my mobility is slipping away. My doctor does not really believe in post polio so I cannot go to him for advice. I have not found anyone who is more enlightened. I am starting for the first time in my life to feel frustrated with my polio. I am just not sure what is the next step. I cannot really afford to stop work and become an 'invalid' even if I wanted to.
Shona

Reply   Options 

From: Sally (SARABOWLDEN) DelphiPlus Member Icon Posted by host2/18/17 11:02 PM 
To: ShonaO  (2 of 2) 
 1522.2 in reply to 1522.1