General Discussion -  newbie to PPs (73 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

To: All  (1 of 4) 

Hi All,
I am new to this forum and new to PPS...although I have not been successful so far in getting my doctor to actually agree with my own diagnosis...I am fairly sure that all I have been complaining about for many years boils down to PPS. I have all the symptoms, including blood tests always coming back normal. Extreme fatigue that sometimes by afternoon at work starts to seal my eyes up (and I could just lay down on the floor and go to sleep). I have a terrible time with cramps in my legs and intermittent swelling and pain in joints and legs. All is exacerbated by stress and over activity. What I use to be able to do easily now puts me to bed for days. All viruses I get are twice as long and more severe than others getting that same virus. I have times when I am doing good and am able to run around in my normal routine. For a long time both my doctors felt I had some autoimmune issues (as my thyroid is already capoot) maybe MS or another such ailment...problem is that nothing ever comes up for those maladies and I only have "some" symptoms of each...including Sjogrens as I have dry mouth, dry eyes and throat etc...it seems like I started to see things going wrong about 20 years ago...but over time I blew it off and enjoyed my times of relief and didn't think much about it. However, in the last 3-4 years my symptoms have been increasing in strength and duration...I have complained to my doctor that it was impossible that nothing comes back on tests and yet I feel so badly every day...she started to treat me as if I was faking or overreacting...it was finally my sister who lives far away from me (and who has acted as a health advocate) called me and told me to look up the symptoms of PPS, saying she had a patient whom the doctor asked if she had ever had polio...and discussed with her the possibility of PPS. She immediately recognized