From The Kitchen -  Beef Stew Recipes (346 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

From: GardenGal (LENORE37) DelphiPlus Member IconJan-3 10:27 PM 
To: All  (1 of 18) 

Today I made a very large pot of stew. It is just for my husband and me and will probably last for 3 meals.  We often cook a lot of something so we don't have to cook every day.

I've been making stew for over 55 years but am curious if there are other recipes for it that any of you use that is not the standard - beef, onions, liquid/broth, carrots, potatoes. 

Interested in what you use for seasoning it and if you use any different vegetables than I mentioned.  Obviously I am not speaking about warming it from a can or from frozen, just for those who make it from scratch. 

Linda, or anyone? 

From: Linda (LRuthers) DelphiPlus Member Icon Posted by hostJan-4 10:55 AM 
To: GardenGal (LENORE37) DelphiPlus Member Icon  (2 of 18) 
 73230.2 in reply to 73230.1 

I make it like you do, Lenore. I also add garlic and celery...and about five minutes before serving, I add frozen peas. 

Dave's doing low carb [again]. so I'm think about substituting turnips for the potatoes...

From: GardenGal (LENORE37) DelphiPlus Member IconJan-4 10:59 AM 
To: Linda (LRuthers) DelphiPlus Member Icon  (3 of 18) 
 73230.3 in reply to 73230.2 

Thanks; I use peas on occasion too but went to the freezer and found tons of green beans but no peas this time.

From: Linda (LRuthers) DelphiPlus Member Icon Posted by hostJan-4 11:01 AM 
To: GardenGal (LENORE37) DelphiPlus Member Icon  (4 of 18) 
 73230.4 in reply to 73230.3 

I didn't realize how often I use frozen peas until I ran out of them. bigSmile

From: DonnaMira-VA (DONNAMIRA) DelphiPlus Member IconJan-4 12:26 PM 
To: GardenGal (LENORE37) DelphiPlus Member Icon  (5 of 18) 
 73230.5 in reply to 73230.1