Horse Racing Forum

Hosted by Cindy Dulay (CindyDulay)

This is a place for friendly and civil discussion of horse racing of all types including handicapping.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussion

Where does past performance info come from?   General Discussions

Started May-8 by shacker8; 287 views.
shacker8

May-8

I am fairly new to the horse racing world and am fascinated by the amount of raw data that is collected, maintained and distributed.  

I am particularly curious as to how past performance information used in PP sheets is actually compiled and recorded.  Are there independent folks at the track that actually clock the horses?  Does each track employee people to record it?  How is it then released/distributed to sites like Equibase, DRF, etc...?

Any insight is appreciated!

TexSquared

May-8

Two ways.  First I'll give you the "old school" method then I'll tell you how better racetracks do it.

A guy in the press box watches the race with binoculars.  Not the track announcer, this guy is called the chart caller.  As the field passes each "point of call" (be it start post, 3/4 pole, whatever), he calls the margins into an audio recorder, sounding like this (using the Kentucky Derby chart for my example, for the 1/4 mile call which in that race is first time past the finish post):

6 by 1, 5 by 1, 11 by 1 1/2, 17 by 2, 3 by 3....

(so that means the 6 horse by 1 length over the 5 horse by 1 length over the 11 horse by 1 1/2 over the 17 horse by 2 lengths over the 3 horse...) 

At the same time there's a guy who runs the teletimer - he activates the timing beam at each of those fractional calls (1/4, 1/2, 3/4, mile, finish) so that he time the lead horse breaks the beam is recorded.  (if that system is malfunctioning he might time the race using a stopwatch instead but this is rare).