Modern Day Warriors -  SACRED RUN 2006 (21 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe
 
From: Madam D (MadamD) DelphiPlus Member Icon3/3/06 11:23 AM 
To: All  (1 of 1) 
 1988.1 

http://www.sacredrun.org/index.html

SACRED RUN 2006
San Francisco – Washington, D.C. February 11-April 22
All Life is Sacred - Running for Peace, Mother Earth, & Hurricane Recovery
At sunrise on Saturday, February 11, 2006, runners and supporters of the 28th Annual
International Sacred Run will gather on San Francisco’s Alcatraz Island for send-off
ceremonies. After the ceremony, runners will travel to Sacramento and run crosscountry
to Washington, D.C., a distance of about 4,000 miles. The 71-day run will
cover 12 states before arriving at the nation’s capital on Earth Day, April 22, 2006.
Runners will swing through Gulf Coast territory to be with those who are rebuilding
after Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.
The purpose of the run is to draw attention to the sacred relationship that exists
between humans and this planet we call Mother Earth. As they make their journey
across America runners will carry the message “All life is sacred”, and offer information
and opportunities for people to take a more active roll in supporting and preserving the
environment, and peace. They will also offer songs and prayers of healing and
recovery for hurricane victims and for all of the world’s peoples. The planning of the
run is being organized by Dennis Banks and the staff of Nowa Cumig Institute, along
with volunteers coast to coast.

Schedule and Route:
33 day

Wednesday, March 15, 2006
Ft. Smith, AR 0 2185 Rest day
34 day

Thursday, March 16, 2006
Ft. Smith, AR 0 2185 Rest day
35 day

Friday, March 17, 2006
Ft. Smith, AR to Litle Rock, AR 156 miles 2341 Mileage estimate - correct later.
36 day

Saturday, March 18, 2006
Little Rock, AR 0 2341 Rest Day
37 day

Sunday, March 19, 2006
Little Rock, AR 0 2341 Rest Day
38 day

Monday, March 20, 2006
Little Rock, AR to Pine Bluff, AR 70 miles 2411 Mileage estimate - correct later.
39 day

Tuesday, March 21, 2006
Pine Bluff, AR to Lake Providence, LA 110 miles 2488 Mileage estimate - correct later.
40 day

Wednesday, March 22, 2006
Lake Providence, LA to Vidalia, LA 97 miles 2598 Mileage estimate - correct later.
41 day

Thursday, March 23, 2006
Vidalia, LA to Natchez, MS to Baton Rouge, LA 90 miles 2695 Mileage estimate - correct later.
42 day

Friday, March 24, 2006
Baton Rouge, LA to New Orleans, LA to Houma, LA 80 miles 2678 Mileage estimate - correct later.
43 day

Saturday, March 25, 2006
Houma, LA 0 2678 Rest day
44 day

Sunday, March 26, 2006
Houma, LA 0 2678 Rest day
45 day

Monday, March 27, 2006
Houma, LA 0 2678 Rest day
46 day

Tuesday, March 28, 2006
New Orleans to Poplarville, MS 77 miles 2755 Mileage estimate - correct later.
47 day

Wednesday, March 29, 2006
Poplarville, MS to Bay Springs, MS 92 miles 2755 Mileage estimate - correct later.
48 day

Thursday, March 30, 2006
Bay Springs, MS to Philadelphia, MS 61 miles 2755 Mileage estimate - correct later.
49 day

Friday, March 31, 2006
Philadelphia, MS 0 2832 Rest day
50 day

Saturday, April 01, 2006
Philadelphia, MS 0 2924 Philadelphia, MS Event
51 day

Sunday, April 02, 2006
Philadelphia, MS 0 2985 Rest day
52 day

Monday, April 03, 2006
Philadelphia, MS 0 2985 Rest day
53 day

Tuesday, April 04, 2006
Philadelphia, MS 0 2985
Rest day

54 day

Wednesday, April 05, 2006
Philadelphia, MS, north to Van Vleet, MS 104 miles 2985

55 day

Thursday, April 06, 2006
Van Vleet, MS south to Threet, AL 100 miles 2985
56 day

Friday, April 07, 2006
Threet, AL to outskirts of Nashville, TN, just past 96 106 miles 3091



For Complete Schedule, SEE SACRED RUN

 
 Reply   Options 

First Discussion>>

 
Adjust text size:
Using a mobile device? Switch to the Mobile Site.

Welcome, guest! Get more out of Delphi Forums by logging in.

New to Delphi Forums? You can log in with your Facebook, Twitter, or Google account or use the New Member Login option and log in with any email address.

Home | Help | Forums | Chat | Blogs | Advertising | Membership Plans
© Delphi Forums LLC All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. Terms of Service.