CWhalley

LifeRing Recovery

Hosted by CWhalley|lifering.org

LifeRing Recovery: a self-help alternative for recovery from alcoholism and other chemical dependency. Group support for abstinence from alcohol and “drugs” by empowering the sober self within you. Completely secular: no prayers, Higher Powers or Steps.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Mary's Sober Diary   Sobriety/Recovery Journals

Started 12/8/08 by marylouise50; 43762 views.
marylouise50

12/8/08

I'm not sure if this is how to begin and post a sobriety blog on this forum, so I am just trying out a few options. I sobered up in March 2007 and have stayed sober since, something that still amazes me. I had never tried to stay sober before becaue I didn't think I could do it. And I wanted to keep drinking, so my own ambivalence held me back.

I work as a writer and editor in a very lonely part of the world, so online support and discussion means a great deal to me. I need a safe place to think aloud about what has changed for me and why and how. Get beyond the cliches. Or judgementalism. Or kneejerk stuff.

Nothing has been easy about this time of sobriety and I don't feel I have any wisdom to offer. In fact I doubt anyone but me could do things quite the way I did because it wouldn't be right for them. Although I loved attending AA and most of the recommendations worked for me, there are no meetings out where I live and I am not someone to think one philosophy fits all. I like intelligent eclecticism and pragmatism when dealing with the huge problem drinking had become in my life.

Let me see if this posts as a new bloggie thing.

Mondotuna

12/8/08

Welcome to the forum Mary Louise. I'm stuck in the hinterlands of N/W Germany, and have found having this contact via the internet with others of my ilk useful.