CWhalley

LifeRing Recovery

Hosted by CWhalley|lifering.org

LifeRing Recovery: a self-help alternative for recovery from alcoholism and other chemical dependency. Group support for abstinence from alcohol and “drugs” by empowering the sober self within you. Completely secular: no prayers, Higher Powers or Steps.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Hello everyone   Info On Alcoholism/Addiction

Started Nov-14 by adamlevine; 98 views.
adamlevine

Nov-14

Hello everyone. I'm Adam, the new member. Be happy to join the forum with everyone.

I have been drinking very heavily for the last 4 months : at least 6 - 13 standard shots of gin almost every day. Sometimes more. Things just escalated and got out of hand. I was also smoking a pack of cigarettes a day, and usually finishing the night off with a couple of Tylenol with Codeine (8mg). I realize that I am probably lucky to still be alive. 

I have stopped all the bad habits - no intention of going back to that place - but have a question about the detox process. 

I am on day 6 and things have not been too bad, except for a little fatigue and insomnia and bad dreams which I understand is normal in this situation. I can get through this. But it is the onset of hypersensitive skin that is driving me nuts! Itchy skin that feels as if bugs are crawling over me at times. NO, I don't see them! Smile Is this part of the detox - does anyone else know of this experience? And how long do you think this could last! 

I have had blood work done, and by some miracle everything shows up within range!

Brian (BrianB125)
Staff

Nov-14

Hello Adam, welcome to the Forum.

Congratulations on 6 days.  Some symptoms of detox would be normal at 6 days, but I've never heard of hypersensitive skin - could be something you just didn't notice when you were drinking?  Detox symptoms can last for over a week and, in my experience, sometimes get worse with time instead of better - but they do go away.