CWhalley

LifeRing Recovery

Hosted by CWhalley

LifeRing Recovery: a self-help alternative for recovery from alcoholism and other chemical dependency. Group support for abstinence from alcohol and “drugs” by empowering the sober self within you. Completely secular: no prayers, Higher Powers or Steps.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Newly Sober-Day 4   Sobriety/Recovery Journals

Started Sep-11 by ptcjstc1984; 190 views.
ptcjstc1984

Sep-11

Hi there,

I just wanted to take a moment to introduce myself. My name is Amanda and I am new to sober living. This is Day 4 for me. 

As an atheist and big believer in self-empowerment, I like the format of LifeRing-I participated in my first virtual meeting yesterday and am considering attending an in-person meeting next week. 

I suppose I'm writing just to address some of how I'm feeling today. 

It's a good day over all-I feel my energy and motivation returning to me. I am a little worried about tonight however. I regularly read poetry on Wednesday nights and the venue is a bar-wine and poetry are inseparable in my mind, but I know I don't want to drink anymore. Because I don't know when to quit.  Tonight is going to be a big challenge. I'm fortunate to have a supportive partner at my side as I take on this new life change. I'm lucky he still wants to be with me in all honesty. 

Is it just me or is drinking featured in just about EVERY movie, book, and tv show out there?

Ugh, this is hard. I suppose that means it is worth doing. 

I've realized that I drink to escape reality. I lost my mother to cancer a few years back and it changed me. I know I can never be the person I was prior to her diagnosis, but I hope that perhaps I can be a good person nevertheless. Without alcohol, my antidepressants can finally work for me too. Mixing drugs and booze is never a good idea, and it has taken its toll. I am through. 

Hopefully I'm ready to face tonight's challenge!

Elsie (Elsiek)

Sep-12

Hi there Amanda and welcome.