Techniques/Lessons/Projects -  New Atlas machine leaving ridges (346 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

To: All  (1 of 9) 
Hi all. I'm a newbie to clay. I just bought the Atlas 180 I've read many tutorial on how to use it for clay. I sliced some 1/4" pieces of pink clay and rolled them in the machine. I started with #1 and went to #5. Because I want the piece somewhat thick for my pendant, I went back to rolling it on #1. I am getting slight ridges all throughout the flat piece. I can barely feel them, but they are noticeable. What could I be doing wrong?

Reply   Options 

To: betsykins7  (2 of 9) 
 70728.2 in reply to 70728.1 

Some pasta machines do that. I THINK it has to do with minute flaws in the scraper blades. You can order replacement scraper blades from Mona Kissel (http://www.monakissel.com/toolspasta.html)

I really suggest sending them your pasta machine and having them modify it for easy cleaning, too. It's $25 plus shipping both ways (another $25 more or less), and WELL worth it!

To solve your problem at this time, try laying your ridged sheet down crossways and lightly brayering or hand rolling over it. No real pressure, just let the weight of the roller smooth the surface. Or cover with a sheet of paper and burnish with a credit card, back of a spoon, or your fingers. Be careful because you can "dent" the clay with too much pressure.

To: gilladian  (3 of 9) 
 70728.3 in reply to 70728.2