Welcome/Sign In Here -  Newbie Here (160 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

To: All  (1 of 5) 

Hi there I'm a newbie - just thought I'd introduce myself a bit.  I'm from Texas and just started claying as part of my occupational therapy to help with a chronic pain disorder

Reply   Options 

To: Kathryn Archuleta (KathrynArchu) unread  (2 of 5) 
 71425.2 in reply to 71425.1 

I am sorry that you have a pain disorder.  Working with clay is a very good idea.  Not only will it help your hands and fingers but also diverts your attention from the pain plus boots your creative spirit!  Good luck!

To: Kathryn Archuleta (KathrynArchu) unread  (3 of 5) 
 71425.3 in reply to 71425.1 

Glad you found polymer clay and I think you will enjoy it. I have chronic pain too and some days I can be creative and some days not so much. But it is a great distraction on the good days! I started with clay just out of college and was looking for a hobby that was far from studying medicine. All these years later I still love it!

Susan (from Oregon) 

To: Kathryn Archuleta (KathrynArchu) unread  (4 of 5) 
 71425.4 in reply to 71425.1 

Hello,

Sorry you have pain.  I have arthritis  in my thumbs, which can be painful.  I think the flexing of the clay with ones hands is good for a lot of things.  Focusing one's mind away from pain with the creative challenge is helpful.  Good luck.  Lots of resources on here to help you as well.

To: mst01  (5 of 5) 
 71425.5 in reply to 71425.2