About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

June 2019 Ex-Smokers    Quit Buddies Unite

Started 1/28/19 by Terry (abquitsmking); 48682 views.
SusanK1960

Mar-7

Hi June,

I’m dropping by to congratulate you on being 9 month done! (If you were pregnant, this would have a much different meaning).  

The other day it was a springlike 68 degrees, so I was out doing some clean up yard work.  I got a lot done since I didn’t have to stop every 30 minutes to smoke!  

I hope you treat yourself to something special! You are doing amazing!

June2019

Mar-7

Thanks Susan.  thinking about smokes has never been farther from my mind - and I hope that happens to you, soon!

the reason I haven't thought about smoking is 2-fold. busy with work as I mostly prepare taxes for a living. I read a few posts in the Quit Buddies for months before June 2019 to see how people dealt with the 8-9 month period. To minimize stress I haven't been taking many new clients - a suicidal move according to other tax preparers BUT my goal here is to get through the season with minimal stress - if I make less money this year, so be it - I feel it's important to start creating new stress release routines to build on (I am CRANKING country music between clients! and once a day when I remember to, I walk around the block)

the other reason I haven't thought about smoking much since the last week of January is that's when I found out the sharp pain in my right thumb that was making work (as well as doing the dishes and anything involving gripping) was osteoarthritis. the medicine made me sick to my stomach & the next step would have been a steriod shot.