About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

New - Completely Miserable & Struggling   Introductions/Newcomers Nook

Started Sep-30 by StruggleHard; 1291 views.
StruggleHard

Sep-30

Hi - by way of introduction, I've been smoking for 30 years or so. My mom smoked until she was dx with cancer 21 years ago & died 18 years ago from it at age 65 - too young.  Yet, I continued to smoke. It's beyond stupid and ridiculous, I know. 

My Dad quit 32 years ago, and I always thought that would spare him. But turns out his recent issues are really cancer; he's fortunate in that it's early and operable.

I learn this on Monday - my Dad makes me give him my word I'll quit immediately. I mean, my mom's long dead and now he has it.; it's a no-brainer right - odds are not in my favor.  So, I wasn't exactly planning on quitting this week but here I am.

I haven't smoked in about 44 hours.  I'm beyond miserable and CONSUMED by thoughts of smoking, insane cravings, heart palpitations, giant knots in chest, anxiety through the roof, and I can't stop bursting into tears - for 2 days!  I am weepy on and off all day, even busy with work stuff.  I WANT to want to quit - I know how awful it is, but the disgusting truth is while I was an ashamed smoker, I still liked it. I'm taking deep breaths, I went for walks, I'm telling myself it's just a wave that will pass, but there have been points where I think I'm losing my mind. I feel like a fraud that will never be able to do this. I don't believe drinking cold water is doing anything for cravings.