About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Scary Mental Fog Dizziness   Introductions/Newcomers Nook

Started Oct-25 by Joseph1688; 452 views.
Joseph1688

Oct-25

Just found this website. I am new to this type of thing and hope I am posting in the right place..

I am 45 days smoke-free today. I smoked for 40+years and finally bottomed out with it. Mostly due to health concerns I was starting to experience on a regular basis like shortness of breath and sore throat (predominantly on the left side of the throat.) I have not had many problems with cravings to smoke, oddly almost nonexistent, but I am having a scary time with feeling "high." Like an out of body mental high feeling with some dizziness. Also have crackling blocked/congested ears.

I am going to make an appointment to get a medical check-up which seems like the obvious thing to do. That is a little challenging right now with the Covid situation but I am sure I will be able to get in soon. In the meantime I am wondering if anyone has any information/experience with this? It is scary and I am so concerned that I may have cancer or something else horrible is going on. My left side of my throat has some restricted uncomfortable feeling in it and I feel so "out of body" like I am high on drugs or something. I was able to find articles about what people call "mental fog" associated with quitting smoking but not sure if they are talking about what I am feeling?! The strange thing is, it did not start right away after quitting. It seems I went about 30 days before this awful mental feeling started. So freaked out about it and hoping to get some advice from others.

Hope someone has some information for me. Thank you for having this forum.

Jaka38

Oct-25