About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Tinys journal   Quit Stories and Journals

Started Dec-27 by TinyBadger; 2149 views.
TinyBadger

Dec-27

Hi. I'm tiny and I've been around for a while. I've been smoking since I was 16, quit for 7 years (my husband said he wouldn't marry a smoker) and just lost an almost 190 day quit. The holidays are the worst for me, every relapse I've had is near the holidays. I figured I'd start a journal to keep me accountable and to give me something to read over when I'm getting desperate for a smoke. I want to quit, I really do, but I'm not delivering on the nope pledge. It's 9 pm my time, and I just had my last cigarette. I used to say I hope I can quit but I realize now that I'm an addict, and always will be. I also know that hope isn't going to pull me through this. I've seen people come and go from the forum and always wonder if they maintained their quit or relapsed and didn't want to say. I've always been forthcoming about my slips and relapses, so don't expect me to cover my behind. I want to quit, for me and for so many reasons. They are probably very similar to your quit reasons so I don't bore you. I have an app that will remind me why I quit, and keep track of my stats. Now all I have to do is quit. I know the drill, I've done it before but it seems so hard recently. I suffer from mental illness and take medications. One of the meds is giving me tremors and other issues so I'm being weaned off of it. I think that may be part of why I lost my quit. Anyhoo, I'm going onward and upward. I plan on venting here at times, as well as celebrating my victories. The mornings are the times when I get most desperate to smoke, so I'll check back then, if I have time. I'm going to try to sleep a little more tonight so I'm at my best tomorrow