Online Quilting Guild

Hosted by Janet Wickell (janma)|ScrapQuilts.com

Welcome to our free quilting forum, the Online Quilting Guild, where you can share ideas about quilting, swap fabrics and other projects, and chat with quilters worldwide.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

I'm Just an Amateur ...   General Discussion

Started Jul-13 by judyinohio; 691 views.
judyinohio

Jul-13

Spent the last few days picking the papers off the back of my foundation pieced "2020 House Arrest" quilt and I'm pleased with the overall look of the thing. There's a two inch border around my 50" x 60" quilt top and I found a good looking remnant of  backing fabric at Christian Lane Quilters, the place that sells "Fat Backs" and other wide pieces of fabrics.  Cut a piece of cotton batting to fit so I more or less have a "kit" ready to go on Lily Aurora but the basement is just too darned cold this time of year.

We don't have a door at the top of the basement stairs and so (as you northerners well know) cold air goes down the basement steps and our basement is cold, cold, cold. Lily Aurora (my HQ 16) doesn't exactly have pretty ice  snowflake dripping off of her handles and frame but I am sure that it would be unpleasant to stand down there and try to work in the chilled air.

So that now makes three finished quilt tops I've turned into kits recently ....

I've been hanging out with forum members too long.

My inner Dorothy (my long departed mom) has faded into a pale memory and I've been making new things without finishing up the previous thing. 

My inner Dorothy does not haunt and nag me any more.

You forum members have been a baaaadddd influence.

But then I'm just an amateur compared to some of this group's quilters who have a lot more than three unfinished quilts.

judyinohio said:

But then I'm just an amateur compared to some of this group's quilters who have a lot more than three unfinished quilts.