Online Quilting Guild

Hosted by Janet Wickell (janma)|ScrapQuilts.com

Welcome to our free quilting forum, the Online Quilting Guild, where you can share ideas about quilting, swap fabrics and other projects, and chat with quilters worldwide.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

What size do you guys make your quilts?   General Discussion

Started Oct-10 by MelRN; 1183 views.
MelRN

Oct-10

So I have been making them 90x100. But I find that when Ami sends them back, they're only like 80x90 (she quilts densely). My mattress is like 13", first of all, so that's not even enough drape to look cute on the sides. So I have been putting the quilt sideways for the last 20 years and pulling it down some (the pillows hide the top of the bed so there's an appropriate amount hanging on the sides. I see people talking about a 96" square quilt as if it's big...but I'm considering starting to make them 100x110 so that they're the right size when they come back. Mark (the ex husband for those of you who weren't here back then!) always complained they weren't wide enough to go over both of us...so if I ever get a second person, I'm sure they'll be happier, too. What size do you guys make your quilts?

In reply toRe: msg 1

I have no idea why your quilts shrink 10 inches!!!!!

I finished a quilt recently for myself and it shrunk 3 or 4 inches and it was very dense quilting...it started at close to 100 inches.

I have only quilted one of your quilts densely and that was for the about.com book. You get at most medium density. My guess is when you wash them and put them in a dryer that might be the cause of your shrinkage.

Mishii

Oct-10

That seems like an excessive amount of shrinking from quilting.  I quilt everything to death and only lose 2-3 inches. 
Do you prewash? What type of batting are you using?

Even if it was an all cotton batting and no prewashing, 10 inches seems like a lot. 

MelRN

Oct-10