stevo4747

Stevo's Book Reviews on the Internet

Hosted by stevo4747

A place to find a good book, hot off the press

  • 484
    MEMBERS
  • 553
    MESSAGES
  • 0
    POSTS TODAY

Welcome

Welcome

Stevo's Book Reviews on the Internet / Stevo's Novel Ideas

Description:
This forum contains Steve Brock's monthly recommendations of the best fiction, nonfiction, and children's books, as well as a selection of a Business Book of the Week.  As of August, 2013, my Business Book of the Week selections will appear as a recommendation on my Goodreads profile, on a Listopia page, and on the Goodreads and Amazon pages for each selected book. 

As an Influencer and Marketer, please look for my other reviews and recommendations online as follows: LinkedIn: Go to my profile: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/steve-brock/10/3b1/780,move your cursor over the down arrow icon in the top section, select View Recent Activity. Twitterhttps://twitter.com/Stevo4747. Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/StevosNovelIdeas. Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/stevosnovelideas/.

Want to get into the heart of the Forum? Go ahead and start reading messages now, or click the "Messages" tab.

 

Featured Book of the Month

 Pignon Scorbion and the 

Barbershop Detectives

by Rick Bleiweiss

 

A PNBA BuzzBooks Winner

“Bleiweiss’s novel is a worthy addition in the tradition of Conan Doyle and Christie. Holmes and Poirot, please make room for Pignon Scorbion.”-Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author of What You Break

For fans of Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot, author Rick Bleiweiss's quirky new detective and ensemble cast of characters set against the backdrop of small-town England in the 1910s, will feel both comfortingly familiar and thrillingly new.

The year is 1910, and in the small and seemingly sleepy English municipality of Haxford, there's a new chief police inspector. At first, the dapper and unflappable Pignon Scorbion strikes something of an odd figure among the locals, who don't see a need for such an exacting investigator. But it isn't long before Haxford finds itself very much in need of a detective.

Luckily, Scorbion and the local barber are old acquaintances, and the barbershop employs a cast of memorable characters who -- together with an aspiring young ace reporter for the local Morning News -- are nothing less than enthralled by the enigmatic new chief police inspector.

Investigating a trio of crimes whose origins span three continents and half a century, Pignon Scorbion and his ''tonsorial sleuths'' interview a parade of interested parties, but with every apparent clue, new surprises come to light. And just as it seems nothing can derail Scorbion's cool head and almost unerring nose for deduction, in walks Thelma Smith -- dazzling, whip-smart, and newly single.

Has Pignon Scorbion finally met his match?

 

Would you like your book featured here?  Send me an email (stevobrock47@gmail.com) for more information.

 

Are you a publisher, bookstore, or library?  I recommend using Ingram as your distributor.  Visit their website at http://www.ingrambook.com or give them a call at (800) 937-7978.

 

Looking for an out-of-print book?  Give Bookman's a try at http://www.amazon.com/shops/bookmans_exchange

 

TOP