MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Symptoms of Faulty TPS?   Tuning&Exhaust:99-05 non cal

Started Nov-1 by CHRIS1037; 390 views.
CHRIS1037

Nov-1

Hey All-

I recently purchased a 2004 V Star 1100 that seems to be in really great condition.  I'm new to all this, so please forgive me if my questions seem a little "green" :) 

It looks to me like the AIS (if this bike had AIS) has been removed.  The leads coming off the cylinders appear to be capped off, and I can't find the chrome tubes that make their way toward the exhaust.  Maybe this is no big deal.

My big concern is that the check engine light is flashing 3 times when the key is in the on position, and steady lit while riding.  The bike seems to be running just fine, but the 3 flashes lead me to believe there's something wrong with the TPS.  I was able to get at the connector and tested it with my multimeter.  I'm no expert so it's possible my testing procedure is flawed (although I don't think so).

I guess my question is this:  "What are the symptoms of a completely failed, or disconnected TPS?" 

And my follow up is "Does anyone have a parts bike with a functioning TPS on it they'd be willing to sell me for a reasonable price?" lol ... they're kinda pricy at the usual places :)

Thanks all!

Chris

Donn (99Orton)

Nov-2

Welcome, click the link up at the top for the 1100 Knowledge base for tons of info on the 1100. Here is a link from it on testing and adjusting the TPS.  V-Star 1100 Wiki Knowledge Base - TPS (google.com)

CHRIS1037

Nov-2

Thanks!  I'll review it.  I also have the service manual and followed the procedures there to test it.  I was not able to get any resistance readings across either sets of wires in the harness.  I did it the hard way and removed everything and tested the TPS at the triangular plug rather than at the ignition box.