The Very Best Information Source for All Models of the V Star XVS 1100

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

dead battery?   Technical-Bikes

Started May-26 by DaveK1661; 290 views.
DaveK1661

May-26

I pulled my bike out (2000 V-Star 1100 Classic XVS1100A) last weekend and it ran like a lawn mower- I feel like it was only hitting on one cylinder, and even that was rough. It was filthy from being in the barn all winter, so I tore it down, cleaned everything, and opened up the float bowls. I also flushed out the old gas from the tank. Carbs look as clean as any I've ever seen, but I took the extra step to blow out the jets with compressed air and carb cleaner, pulled the floats to inspect the needle and seat, everything looks great from what I can tell- and I've pulled these carbs apart for over 20 years. I'm not a pro, but I'm familiar. Also, I had the bike dyno tuned a couple years ago at a local shop. They guy did a great job and I've never had an issue like this since then.

I put the battery back in (of course I charged it) and cranked it, but I get no bang. There's fresh gas in the tank, I checked the fuel pump and gas all the way back up to the carbs, checked spark and tested the coils with a multimeter. I get gas, I get spark, but I get no bang. I tried engine start- front cylinder bangs (fires) briefly, that is all. Rear cylinder not even that.

The battery holds up for maybe 6 or 8 tries, then it's got nothing, engine barely spins, then just clicks. This battery has been in the bike 1 year- I pulled it before I stored the bike, kept it on the charger. This has happened the last few years- a new battery every spring, so I thought maybe I have a bad regulator/rectifier.