The Very Best Information Source for All Models of the V Star XVS 1100

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

PMS (air/fuel) screw setting 2007 vstar 1100   Tuning&Exhaust:04cal/06 up

Started Jul-28 by Rod580sl; 357 views.
Rod580sl

Jul-28

Looking for help on setting the above. Some YT sites say back out 2 to 3 turns; one said 5; and a mechanic said 1 to 2 turns. 

Machine idles fine but backfires on acceleration and deceleration. 

Don't have a vacuum pump so wondering if anyone has same machine and can advise?

Thanks for any help 

4Strokes

Jul-28

I'm at three turns out and still have a little popping on decel but nothing bad.

That's with pod filters, stock pilot jets and stock exhaust.

Donn (99Orton)

Jul-28

You need to do a lean drop to get it right.   V-Star 1100 Wiki Knowledge Base - Pilot Mixture Screws (google.com)

PnutsC

Jul-29

Just did mine. I’m a 68 yr old mechanic and have adjusted 100s of cabs in my day on everything from farm equipment to daily drivers to full on race cars.  I’ve used vacuum gauges, gas analyzers and everything else. 90% I adjust by ear which is basically lean drop method. I just did mine (yesterday) I took them off and drilled out tamper plugs. So they were still at the factory setting. They were at 2 rounds. I opened them to 3. On startup there was a very noticeable difference. Set the idle down as low as it will idle and not die. Run them in until you here a difference. If it’s like mine it’ll be pretty quickly. (From the 3 turns out method). Back off until it smooths back out. Back in until you here it drop again and find that sweet spot where moving it back and forth 1/4 turn or so make no difference but another 1/4 turn in does. I usually go another 1/4 to 1/2 from there to allow for differing conditions. I feel sure I’m still around the 3 turns mark, they’re so hard to get to I can’t say for sure because of the screwdriver slipping and you’re not always moving the screw when you’re turning the driver. Set your idle ba