autogun

Military Guns and Ammunition

Hosted by autogun

This is intended for people interested in the subject of military guns and their ammunition, with emphasis on automatic weapons.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

PDW again   Small Arms <20mm

Started 20-Dec by DavidPawley; 27130 views.
17thfabn

3-Feb

"nincomp

I think that the concern is that civilians would try to chamber the new rounds in old 7.62x25 firearms....

I wonder if Max or some other knowledgeable person could explain why the Soviet Union moved away from this round."

I'm no expert. My understanding was the 7.62 x 25 was a fairly powerful for a side arm. Hence it required a strong hand gun action to use it. The 9x18 being a much milder cartridge didn't need as beefy an action to contain it.

Hand guns are probably the least important weapon on the battlefield after bayonets. Switching to 9x18 allowed the Soviets to produce a simpler side arm. 

7.62 x 25 was a good round for submachine guns. With the introduction of  the AK series of weapons the USSR moved away from submachine guns.

roguetechie

3-Feb

If you're not changing the specs and raising operating pressure you're not actually doing anything worth doing.

That's kinda the whole point here, no amount of rearranging the deck chairs on the titanic of convention small cartridge design is going to give you the performance we want or that cartridge and loading would already exist.

nincomp

3-Feb

Good suggestion.  I did not realize that it ran at 55,00psi until you mentioned it and I looked at it more carefully.  Previously I had thought that it used 9x19 pressures.  I think that this would be a good solution for a close range PDW, with decent armor penetration if it used a relatively smaller hardened core.  It is just when the desire is for something useful at 300m or so that I see a problem.

Red7272

3-Feb

graylion said: