autogun

Military Guns and Ammunition

Hosted by autogun

This is intended for people interested in the subject of military guns and their ammunition, with emphasis on automatic weapons.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Left-handed infantry   General Military Discussion

Started 27-Jan by autogun; 1533 views.
autogun

27-Jan

I was wondering how different armies (WW2 and modern) treated the small-arms training of left-handed infantry. Were/are they all expected to shoot right-handed, or allowed to shoot left-handed?

One case I have read of was the Bren Gun, which has the stock and sights skewed to one side so the gunner could see past the magazine. I've never had the pleasure of firing one, but I understand that it definitely had to be fired right-handed.

What about bolt-action rifles? I have fired Lee-Enfields left-handed on many occasions (I am normally right-handed, but for iron-sights shooting I have a left master eye - my right eye is short-sighted). It is a bit slower and more awkward to operate the bolt left-handed, but were the troops firmly discouraged from doing so?

How about SMGs? The Sterling is a kind of semi-bullpup, I'm not sure how comfortable that is to shoot left-handed. 

With bullpup rifles, most are difficult or uncomfortable to shoot left-handed (although recent designs are finding ways around this), and I believe that the British Army trains soldiers to fire right-handed only. 

Of course, the problem of left-handed shooting can be increased by the control layout although again, modern rifles often have ambidextrous controls.

Any information welcomed!

RovingPedant

27-Jan

Looking at it from another perspective, such as handedness in other aspects of society:

https://rightleftrightwrong.com/history_recent.html

Until the 1960’s and 70’s there was an expectation that people could simply use things right-handed.

graylion

27-Jan

Back home, left handers were told "use the nice hand" in school.

stancrist

27-Jan