Latest 11/17/17 by medicA8
Latest Aug-21 by CHUB92000
Latest Aug-21 by Windsor Greg (thomvan)
Latest Aug-19 by dadoffive01
Latest Aug-19 by Gedger
Latest Aug-18 by Windsor Greg (thomvan)
Latest Aug-15 by Windsor Greg (thomvan)
Latest Aug-14 by dadoffive01
Latest Aug-14 by Windsor Greg (thomvan)
Latest Aug-9 by Windsor Greg (thomvan)
Latest Aug-5 by JoeRunde
Latest Aug-5 by foghat73
Latest Aug-5 by Canamcougars
Latest Aug-4 by Windsor Greg (thomvan)
Latest Aug-2 by Bill_Priester (Hookalakah2u)
Latest Aug-1 by DMOSS3
Latest Aug-1 by bruce1949
Latest Jul-24 by foghat73
Hi, I just bought 1986, and noticed some oddness with some pitchers 65 HR Ratings. I assume that these are wrong, as they do not follow the traditional 1-X format that all of the others have.
Bill Mooneyham A: HR -5, B: HR -2, C: HR 1
Moose Haas A: HR -1, B: HR 1-2, C: HR 1-5
Jay Howell: A: HR -2, B: HR 1, C: HR 1-4
Dave Von Ohlen: A: HR -11, B: HR -8, C: HR -5
Fernando Arroyo: A: HR -11, B: HR -8, C: HR -5
New York Yankees:
Dave Righetti: A: HR -6, B: HR -3, C: HR 0
Rod Scurry: A: HR -9, B: HR -6, C: HR -3
There are a couple on Boston as well, so I assume this is a set wide issue.
These are pitchers that give up very few homers. Take Von Ohlen for instance. Let's say he's pitching with B grades (HR -8). This means that if a batter rolls say a 66:HOMERUN then this would become 66:HOMERUN 1-12. The -8 takes away from batter card HOMERUN chances. If the batter was a 66:HOMERUN 1-12, Von Ohlen's -8 would reduce that to 1-4. A pitcher with a HR- on 65 will never give up a HR on a 65 roll.
AHHHHHHHH - that makes sense, thanks.
I remember reading that in the rules, but not seeing an example, so it didn't click! Got it, thanks.
If the roll is say HOMER 1-12 / DOUBLE, does it then become HOMER 1-4/DOUBLE ? I assume so.
Yes, if the pitcher is HR-8
If the roll is say HOMER 1-12 / DOUBLE, does it then become HOMER 1-4/DOUBLE ?
This is a very good question. If the pitcher has a HR -8, another possibility would be:
HOMER 1-4 [OUT 5-12]/DOUBLE.
The batter result after the slash isn't really linked to what precedes the slash, other than having a 13-20 chance of scoring that result; so in my mind, I'm seeing these stingy anti-gopher ball pitchers having the knack for making hitters miss their pitch and being rewarded for it.
Greg, can you clarify this scenario please?
Are you sure you make that adjustment on a home run that comes from a 66? I thought those adjustments only came into play on dice roll 65 HR - P.
If it's wrong hopefully Greg will clarify
A pitcher's negative HR can only affect the main card. Thus it would affect dice roll 66 in the previous example.
If the HOMERUN split was on dice roll 55 then that's where it would be affected.
A minus 8 is rather large and if the player's card read:
55 HOMERUN 1-3 / DOUBLE
... then technically it should take away the HOMERUN on 55 and on 66 if the D20 is 16-20.
These homeruns are now OUT, not doubles.
Wow... OK, I stand corrected. I have not been playing it this way.
Page 1 of instructions, explaining the batters card, 66 HOMERUN is a home run. No explanation or instruction to check for a Pitchers Negative HR rating.
Page 2 of instructions next to the pitchers card are instructions for Dice roll 65, and further in the paragraph there are instructions for the HR split number on 55. I did not assume it would carry over to dice roll 66 which is a full home run in this example.
Page 5, New Rules, gives instruction for Negative HR Ratings on Dice roll 65.
I keep learning something new every day. LOL
Thanks for the clarification, Greg. It honestly never would have occured to me that it was a cumulative subtraction, if the batter has multiple HR lines.
As a side note, can you check out my question on the Ballpark cards that I posted yesterday? I am sure I am wrong about how it works, and my message is rather rambling and confusing, I apologize for that!