General -  A Note About Death Records (175 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

To: All  (1 of 10) 

I.  Introduction.

This note is based on my experience with vital records which are birth, marriage and death records in the State of New Jersey.  I offer it to give some insight into the collection of these records.  At the same time my information is incomplete because I have no experience with part of the process.  

For about 20 years I worked with several local registrars of vital statistics.  At that time I took the standard course given to all registrars in the state of New Jersey.  Then I moved to Trenton where for about 10 years I worked at the State Bureau of Vital Records gathering various records for SSA.  And during almost 40 years I worked at SSA processing all of these records.  This is my own background.  

II.  How Death Records Are Collected.  

When a person dies a Funeral Director who is licensed by the State is called in to deal with the body.  The Funeral Director is responsible for gathering information to complete a death record.  The record includes identifying information including the Social Security Number (SSN) and the name and relationship of the informant, usually the closest relative of the person available.  There is also the cause of death which is completed by the attending physician or the physician who conducts and autopsy.  The physician's name and signature is on the death certificate.  The law allows 5 days for the Funeral Director to collect this information and submit it to the local registrar; however, the information is not considered late if it is submitted with 20 days.