General Sharing -  Thanks in advance (207 views) Notify me whenever anyone posts in this discussion.Subscribe

To: All  (1 of 4) 

Hi there 

I am new to the group. After sitting in on a few meetings, this organization offers the right fit for me.

Here is the quandary-I have not stopped drinking yet. I have been drinking heavily for around twelve years and recently have started even more, and drinking some whiskey when I used to stick to just wine. I am at around 20 or more drinks a week, which is awful.  I have gained 15 pounds and am noticing the booze affecting my quality of life.

The problem I am having is taking that first step. Tonight I am having just one glass of wine because it is my last one in the house, and am honestly not even really enjoying it. Such a stupid thing.... How does one get past that hurdle of the first day?

I would like some accountability for at least the first part. Does anyone know of some online programs that function like a rehab but might be online that are not twelve step?

And how did you get to that first day where you just said "okay I am done"?  I think that every night in the middle of the night, and then the next day it never happens.  This nightly process eats away at my self confidence.

Nothing is "wrong" in my life that creates a need to drink.  I have a great marriage, a great job, a great family, and a great life that would be better without booze.  I started drinking every day when I became a single mom and just never stopped

Your thoughts/experience/advice are much appreciated. It would be great to nip this thing in the bud before I have health problems or doe something really stupid.

THANK YOU SO SO MUCH!

Lisa

To: lisak1238  (2 of 4) 
 3558.2 in reply to 3558.1 

Hello Lisa, welcome to the forum.

You've raised a number of big questions here, I'll give you my take on them - but remember, it's just my take.