The Commport

Hosted by [PC][Ch]amsalot (CHAMSALOT)|forums.delphiforums.com/maxcommport/start

Free support to first-time computer users as well as the experts!

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Building new home server with RAID 5    Building/Modding/ Overclocking

Started Dec-4 by Joe PC User (JoePCUser); 115 views.

Hi all,

I'm planning on building a new home file server with RAID 5. At this point, I'm thinking of using NAS4Free, but may go for Windows 10. I'm not an expert when it comes to server, so easy set up and management is preferred. My current server is running Window Home Server 2003.

The components planned for the new server at this point:

• Motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 Mark2
  • CPU: Intel CORE i3-7100
  • Memory: 8GB
  • HDD: WD Red 4TB x 4 for data
  • SSD: 240 GB for the OS and other non-data stuff
  • PSU: EVGA B3 450W

I have 2 questions:

1. The motherboard supports RAID 5. Does that mean I don't need anything else? I still remember from the good old days that RAID cards were required to set up RAID.
  2. Am I correct to understand that NAS4Free is a complete OS, i.e. it is not installed after, say, having installed Windows 10? 

Thanks a bunch for your help.

xSomeguyx

Dec-4

1. Pretty much.  RAID 5 on an embedded controller like that will be ok on reads, and pretty crappy on writes, especially with those disks.  However, it's definitely doable (I have a similar setup on my HTPC, though with older 2tb drives), and as long as you're ok with things not being lightning fast it should be pretty good.  You could get a cheap RAID controller if you want some advanced functionality (LSI or HPE for example), though all the benefit you'd see on something like this would just be a snazzier RAID interface, and better overall performance.

2. Yeah, looks like NAS4Free is a Linux distribution geared towards NAS.  You could also look at FreeNass.