About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Tricky 8-11 Months   Quit Support

Started 8/26/15 by ModAndrea; 109104 views.

Is it normal for your mind to be messed up at 11 months?

Just wondering how you are feeling now   I’m at 11 months tomorrow and my head is still messed up.  Have you gotten any better?

I was wondering if you’re feeling better.  I’m reaching 11 months tomorrow and my head is still messed up.  Has it gotten any better for you?

I am not a doctor but if people have pre-existing depression or other mental illnesses quitting may take much longer till your body readjusts. Try to go by how great it is to not be a slave to cigarettes. Rewiring our brain takes time and you have put in 11 months already -- you are a true trooper hanging in there despite feeling awful. I didn't feel good until after hitting 14 months quit and then that icky anxiousness finally settled down. I wish I had better answers but it's better to never smoke another cigarette ever again as your lungs, heart and body doesn't need those poisons to deal with. As we get older it seems everything gets harder but if you smoke then you'll regret destroying all the hard fought job you've put in. There is no magic to staying quit and each one of us needs to deal with the stresses we go through on our life journeys. I wish you continued succes at winning your battle over cigarettes. I hope you feel better soon. Just keep going no matter what crap this addiction tosses at you. Keep smiling! relaxed

"Quitting isn't for Sissies!" I quit poisoning myself Sept. 27, 2013