About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Time to quit   Introductions/Newcomers Nook

Started Apr-3 by John1508; 1290 views.
John1508

Apr-3

Hi All

My name is John and I am trying to quit smoking.

I had my last smoke over a month ago.

I am feeling really good about it .This time something clicked  and I decided to stop for health reasons.I tried e few times in the past but it did not work.

I went cold turkey this time.

I have read so many articles and stories  on this forum about ex smokers that gave me the encouragement to give it up.

i have been smoking for over 30 years and I hope to give it up for good this time.

DebraAnne60

Apr-3

You will find lots of support and information on this forum.  I am also cold turkey and now three months in.  We are here to support you however we can.  Congratulations on your one month quite.  Best decision for your life.

Cheers

John1508

Apr-3

Thank you for the encouragement and support.

Congrats on your three  month’s without smoking,

Yes we need to stay strong and help one another on this journey to stay smoke free.

Hi John,

Welcome and congratulations on over a month free from cigarettes.   My best advice is to read and post as much as you can here.  The more you know about nicotine addiction, the better your chance of success.  

I included a link to the March Ex-Smokers thread but feel free to drop in anywhere you like and get to know some of your quit buddy's.  For me, my quit buddy group was a life line and yrs later we are all still very close.  Quitting smoking is one of the hardest things I ever did but worth every minute  of discomfort.  Take it one day at a time.  You can do this.

John1508

Apr-3

Thank you Marge for your support and good wishes.