About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Newbie Here   Quit Support

Started May-20 by Jayceelum; 805 views.
Jayceelum

May-20

I'm Jaycee and I haven't quit, yet. It's my goal to quit at the end of this pack of cigs. I hate them so much... the way they taste, the way they make me feel, how they make my breath smell. They're gross!!! Every time I buy another pack, I feel SO disappointed in myself. I only smoke five a day, but that's enough to compromise my health and make me addicted.

I came here to find inspiration. I have read statistics that say that cold-turkey is how 85% of successful quitters quit, so that's how I'm going to do it. I have eleven left and I'm not going to destroy them, although I know that would be best. I will smoke one or two more today and the rest tomorrow and Saturday. I know I have a lot of withdrawal to go through and I'm looking forward to hear about your successes and even your failures to see how I can gather strength and hope from that.

Thanks so much for sharing your stories.

~Jaycee

DebraAnne60

May-20

Hi Jaycee,

I quit cold turkey and I have to admit, after the first three days, it got real easy.  Then in came and went in waves for a few months.  Now it seems fairly peaceful.  We shall see.  There is plenty to read in the Discussions column to keep you distracted from your smokes when you decide to quit.  Also, I highly recommend Allan Carr's Easy Way to Quit Smoking - great book.  Really helped to deal with the mindset.  At least it did for me.

Keep in touch and good luck.  Remember - if you think you can't do it, your right.

Cheers

Jayceelum

May-20