About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Day 3 of Quitting after 10 Years   Quit Support

Started Sep-21 by mimix015; 442 views.
mimix015

Sep-21

Hi there! I've been smoking cigarettes for 10 years and decided to quit! I am on day 3 & the nicotine withdrawal has started to kick in. I am currently using Nicoderm patches & I've been trying to keep myself as busy as I can but today is really hard :( I have anxiety and smoking was my go to to relieve any feeling of emotional discomfort and now that I don't have that, I'm panicking! I would love some encouragement to keep me motivated, thank you so much!

Panic seems to be a big thing with quitting but we all have to go through the tough first three months till our routine becomes automatic. By day three your nicotine blood levels have depleted so just like a hard core drug user you are now going through some very wicked tough withdrawal symptoms. Do lots of deep breathing to calm yourself. Go for a quick walk around the block or do other things to distract yourself. Drink ice water too as it really helps flush out all the toxic poisons from all those cigarettes. Your brain will eventually fix everything and it does it as we sleep. Your brain will rewire as long as you just don't smoke. Start reading the articles in the September 2020 thread as the moderators have many articles that will help explain the process. This is a long slow journey to freedom. This drug addiction is wicked but you can stay quit like so many others have. Keep taking it One Day At A Time until staying quit is your automatic response. You'll get plenty of support from other quitters and it's important to remember that you are not alone in your goal. Helping support each other really does work. I wish you the very best of luck.