About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Afraid I'll fail   Introductions/Newcomers Nook

Started Apr-20 by Fearit2021; 444 views.
Fearit2021

Apr-20

Hi

I'm new to the discussions. I want to quit. I have a lot of anxiety issues and the thought of not having cigarettes here "just in case", stops me from not buying cigarettes. I live in a remote area, stores aren't open late, and I don't do well driving in general, let alone at night, when I feel I would want a cigarette more. 

I just bought 2 cartons to the tune of 209.00- which would last me close to 3 weeks, but I don't want to wait that long to quit. I first wonder if the place I bought them from would refund my money if I took them back. Has anyone ever had this happen? If not, then I would wait and smoke them all and by then, might be out of this mindset I have right now that it is time. 

I am afraid of failing at it, as I have tried before. I get very aggravated after a bit of not smoking and am afraid I will do something stupid at work (bite someone's head off) and lose my job. 

My best success was with Chantix, but it messed up my liver and I can't use it anymore. My brain says I can't do it without the Chantix, though it had it's own nasty side effects. 

I feel like I am between a rock and a hard place with this. I'm in my 60's and might as well say I have smoked since I was born, since my parents were heavy smokers always. 

My mom quit in her 60's and still had a stroke, COPD, etc and died a miserably long death at 80 because of smoking and vascular dementia, and I feel like it's already too late and I am completely going to follow in her footsteps no matter what. The expense is crazy as well.