About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

Formerly known as the About.com Smoking Cessation support forum, this community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Fresh Quit   Health Support and Encouragement

Started Jun-13 by Jatchat; 874 views.
Jatchat

Jun-13

Starting a fresh quit, I'm not exactly a newcomer been over this well worn track many times so I thought I'd post here. My background is I am a serial quitter, I have more time off cigarettes than on my last quit was 10 days when I let one slip behind my guard, the lesson learnt was not even one cigarette will or shall be allowed this is my new rule, Please help me to keep it. 

Kind regards

Anthony

KatieKat84

Jun-13

Hey Anthony,

Good for you reaching out for that extra bit of support to make your quit stick. I really admire your tenacity in getting straight back on the horse each time you slip. But it would be wonderful if you could get past these early week/months - it’s just so much easier once you put some distance between yourself between yourself and that last cigarette. You can just forget about it and enjoy life!

I don’t know if this appeals but have you thought about planning something for 6 months time like a day trip or whatever and then imagine what it would be like to enjoy that day without thinking about smoking/quitting. That could be something to aim for in the medium term to get you past the first stage? Anyway just a thought. 

You’re a great support to many here on the forum.

Cheers and best,

Katie 

Quit 4th March 2017

rabdid

Jun-13

I made 30 days twice. 4 days about 100 times. Tomorrow is my day 4.

I'm reminding myself how much time I've wasted going to get some smokes. How often I've felt crappy about it. And how now, at day 3 AGAIN, I am hardly able to function as the poison leaves my system.

Lets kick this mother for good. 

In reply toRe: msg 3
Jatchat

Jun-13

Hi rabdid,