About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Terry (abquitsmking)

This community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Happy New (smoke free!) Year   Quit Buddies Unite

Started Jan-2 by MarthaJC; 379 views.
MarthaJC

Jan-2

This is my first time starting a discussion, and couldn't figure out how to post in the November 2021 Ex-Smokers folder.  I am SO grateful to have found this forum! I quit smoking on November 28th, the day I came down with Covid. (Yes, fully vaccinated....) The illness made me feel so lousy for a few days that I didn't notice any nicotine withdrawal! I'm 62 years old and have smoked on and off since my teens. This time I am completely surrendering to the fact that I am an addict and can't have one puff. I am grateful every single day to wake up and not smoke. Cravings come and go. I ignore them and they have no power. I am learning from all of you and wish you all success with your quit!

Anne2020

Jan-4

Well done Martha

Quitting smoking is the best think you can do for yourself.  You will feel and look younger, you will gain so much self confidence it is amazing.  Your health will improve in leaps and bounds and, you will experience life in a brand new light.

What better gift to give yourself.

It looks like you are starting your 6th week.  Congratulations!!!  The first 3 days and 3 weeks are the toughest by far.  All that relentless friction to overcome the addiction.  Hopefully you are starting to feel a bit more freedom from cravings.  Perhaps you have experienced a period of forgetting all about smoking.  These periods of 'peaceful existence' will expand and proliferate as you grow into your smoke free lifestyle.

You will find some excellent material in the library and in the discussions listed on the left of this site.  Many have found that reading and participating on this site has gotten them through their quit.