About Smoking Cessation Forum

Hosted by Denim50

This community is open to all who are recovering from nicotine addiction.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Ready to quit    Introductions/Newcomers Nook

Started May-4 by DanDzl; 421 views.
DanDzl

May-4

Hi everyone, I’m Dan I’ve been smoking for about 15 years and I’m sick of it

im sick of it, I’m ready to end this cursed habit. I resent how much money it’s cost and how much it dictated my life, I got in contact with a local stop smoking program and together we are working on a gradual reduction plan with NRT.

I was smoking 25 a day and my first goal is to get it down to 15 and so on.

im a bit scared but I really want to quit I want to be able to buy things and go places not lose a quarter of my salary on this crap.

In reply toRe: msg 1
JavaNY

May-4

Welcome Dan. There is some good information on this sight and the members are always helpful. 

Everyone has a different plan and whatever works for them is a good plan. I think a gradual reduction can be hard as it delays the quit. But it doesn't hurt to try. What type of NRT are you looking at? I'm using an e-cig, it no longer has any nicotine in it. But there are people on this forum who have used most if not all of them. 

Paul

In reply toRe: msg 2
DanDzl

May-4

The program I’m in put together a kit together  consisting of 8 boxes of NRT patches (6 boxes of 21mg, 1 box of 14mg and 1 box of 7mg) + 4 boxes of NRT gum or lozenge as well as a coach to help me out it should arrive in a week or two :)

In reply toRe: msg 3
Lubbercat

May-5

Dan

I am a real fan of the patches but, I have always been told not to use them with smoking.  This can be very dangerous physically.  That being said, I can't say I never slipped with a patch on but, if it became more then a "slip" of 1 or 2, then I removed the patch.  I actually had really good luck with the patches and just passed 9 months quit.