Online Quilting Guild

Hosted by Janet Wickell (janma)|ScrapQuilts.com

Welcome to our free quilting forum, the Online Quilting Guild, where you can share ideas about quilting, swap fabrics and other projects, and chat with quilters worldwide.

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

Oh, that'll quilt out - no, really!   Machine Quilting Tips & Techniques

Started Jul-16 by JulietDeltaOscar (fixin2quilt); 1090 views.

This is a category that doesn't get many posts, but I thought it was appropriate for this topic.

In no way am I a long-arm quilter, or even a good domestic machine quilter -- or any other kind of quilter for that matter.  I am still learning to use the simplest lines and designs.  BUT .............

I have committed to making a presentation at our September quilt meeting on how to do simple repairs to old quilts, and I am using an old quilt made by my Grandma to show a few different ways to mend them.  (Fortunately, I do not have to demonstrate any machine quilting.  haha)  But in my hand-out, I also want to include some links to some more advanced tips and tricks, for the ladies in the group who have a lot of experience doing long-arm quilting (for-profit or non-profit).  I am amazed at how she tamed this old quilt with her long-arm machine!  She is obviously a very experienced long-arm quilter, and I'm sure many of you will recognize her, but I did not know her before I watched this.  

The video is a bit long- a little over 35 minutes - but IMO, it is worth it when you have some time to watch it.  I saw some techniques I was not aware of until now - especially the "starch and steam" method, and her method of patching while doing the edge-to-edge quilting!  Well, get a cup of something, sit down for a break, and enjoy this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRjZxo2fWE0 

judyinohio

Jul-16

Thanks, Jonna, for sharing this video. She's a gifted teacher and I learned a lot. That hand steamer gadget she uses is really clever.