_V Star 1100 Riders_

Hosted by Sick Mick* (quick_mick)|The V Star 1100 Wiki Knowledge Base

The Very Best Information Source for All Models of the V Star XVS 1100

MEMBERS
    POSTS TODAY

Discussions

2007 VStar 1100 Classic - drive shaft questions (possible problem)   Technical-Bikes

Started Apr-21 by JMK1100 (JMK1000); 1948 views.
JMK1100 (JMK1000)

Apr-21

Hi Guys.
Almost a year ago I got 2007 VStar 1100 Classic with 7800 miles on it.  Clean as a whistle.  Almost new tires.
I am new to the motorcycles - but a quite a handy with tools.
I changed the clutch plates couple of weeks ago, but I didn't have time to adjust the bottom end.  So I did it today.
I put the bike on a lift (front wheel still on the ground, but the back wheel suspended.  I adjusted the clutch.  Turned the motor on, shifted into the gear, and than I noticed that the shaft makes some lateral moves (when it gets inside, behind the cover).  I also heard some noice when it turned, like hitting the plastic cover inside (not too loud, but for me - alarming).
This happened when the wheel wasn't touching the ground.  The jack DIDN'T let the swing arm extend down, the position was almost like riding.  When I stopped the engine, I tried to shake the shaft by hand - it didn't move, nor shake at all.
When I rode, I didn't hear ANY noise coming from that direction.  I even attached the iPhone to the saddle bag and recorded the sound.  It was smooth.  So, SHOULD I WORRY?  And would it happen like that?
Is there an easy way to expose the u-joint and the shaft?  Easy way - I mean - without taking everything apart, removing harnesses, and fuel lines etc?

I would appreciate some advice.  

OldAFVetProf

Apr-21

Yes, you should worry. I would think you are about to experience the catastrophe of the u-joint coming loose from the middle shaft. Been there...